Adorn your White Dressing Table

Lat week I wrote about giving my white dressing table a spring clean. This week, now it’s all tidy and organised, I’m thinking about what I can adorn it with! From perfume bottles to jewellery stands we have a gorgeous selection of trinkets that will look beautiful on your white dressing table. I will be picking out some of my favourite bits and bobs, and giving you a little bit of history.

Perfume Bottles

Perfume bottles have adorned the homes of the noble and wealthy since 1500BC (Wow!) While early scents were designed to ward off bad spirits, grace the gods and disguise body odours, the bottles were a true symbol of luxury. Perfume bottles, in my eyes, are still a symbol of luxury. On my dressing table I have a collection of five perfume bottles. I really enjoy using my black perfume atomiser, and have filled it with Ghost, one of my favourite scents. Using the atomiser to spray my perfume evokes the glamour of days gone by (and makes me feel like I’m in an old black and white film).

perfume atomiser with woman

black perfume atomiser

FACT:  During World War I, many G.I.’s who were returning home from France through Paris picked up perfumes in atomizer bottles for their sweethearts and wives back home.

jewellery bottles on mirrored tray

INSPIRATION: I love this idea, seen on www.thevintagehome.net of putting a cake stand on your dressing table.

dressign-table-jewellery-display-silver-mirror-cake-stand-1

Jewellery Boxes and Displays

Keep your jewellery tidy and organised on your dressing table with a beautiful jewellery box or stand from VintageVibe. The mirrored jewellery box has useful side compartments which open out to hang your necklaces. It has plenty of storage with five drawers and a top section with space for rings. If you prefer for your jewellery to be out on display you will love our display stands. Our 1920’s style jewellery stand, with it’s quirky design, is a great way to display your bracelets and necklaces.

mirrored jewellery box

FACT: The National Geographic reports that mankind may have started wearing jewellery as far back as 75,000 years ago.

jewellery stands

Trinkets

Add a trinket to your white dressing table to give it a personal touch. I love the white kissing cherub, perch it on the edge of your dressing table. The white bird trinket will look sweet on your dressing table, and you could display your favourite bracelet around it’s neck. The Ruby red glass will add a bohemian touch to your dressing table. Fill it with your favourite beads and pearls.

Screen shot 2013-04-09 at 11.20.03

ruby red bowl

QUIRKY FACT: To dream of a white bird represents a wish to transcend or rise above a negative situation that is being renewed.

Screen shot 2013-04-09 at 08.44.14

What have you got on your dressing table?

Laura

x

Leave a Reply

